Cranberry Chocolate Chip Multi-Grain Cookies (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

It’s officially the holiday season, and I’m starting to prepare the holiday sweets – cookies, candies, and fudge (yes, dairy-free fudge! Coming soon!). The other day I shared one of my new favorite treats, and here’s another. These cookies were more of an experiment, resulting from some cranberries that I bought and for whatever reason, didn’t use. I opted to make a fresh cranberry cookie. These were delightful – the whole grains remind me of oatmeal cookies, but the combination of cranberry and chocolate definitely makes them something special. When I baked these cookies, I could hardly wait until they were cool enough to eat. And then, I had to will myself to stop at 2. They definitely were tasty, to say the least. Maybe not the flashiest cookie on the holiday table, but sometimes, those “ugly ducklings” are the true gems!

So if you’re looking for another treat to round out your holiday cookie platter, these might be a great gluten-free, dairy-free option!

Cranberry Chocolate Chip Multi-Grain Cookies (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

½ c tapioca starch

¼ c teff flour

¼ c buckwheat flour

¼ t salt

¼ t xanthan gum

½ t baking soda

1 t cinnamon

¼ t allspice

2 T ground flaxseed meal

1/3 c palm shortening

¼ c coconut oil

½ c sucanat or evaporated cane juice

¼ c sugar

¼ c honey

1 large egg

1 t vanilla extract

1 c quinoa flakes

1 c dark chocolate chips (dairy-free)

1 c coarsely chopped fresh cranberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 2 baking sheets.

In a medium bowl, combine tapioca starch, teff flour, buckwheat flour, salt, xanthan gum, baking soda, cinnamon, allspice, and flaxseed meal and whisk. Set aside.

In the mixing bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream shortening, coconut oil, sucanat, sugar and honey together. Add egg and beat in until combined. Add vanilla extract and beat in. Turn speed to low and slowly add flour mixture. Once combined, add quinoa flakes. Stir in chocolate chips and cranberries.

Scoop onto prepared baking sheets into balls about 2 inches in diameter, spaced about 2 inches apart. Bake for 15-18 minutes or just until the edges are browned. Remove and allow to cool on cookie sheet for 3 minutes or until set enough to transfer to a rack. Allow cookies to cool completely on rack.

Makes about 2 dozen.

15 Comments

Filed under Baked goods, Dairy-Free, Desserts, Vegetarian

15 responses to “Cranberry Chocolate Chip Multi-Grain Cookies (Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free)

  1. These look SO good Alta! And the photography is wonderful!! Beautiful job!

  2. These look delicious! Happy Holidays!

  3. Definitely want to try this recipe! Happy holidays, Alta!

  4. Can’t wait to try these. I’m in full GF Christmas Cookie mode.

  5. This might be a better use of the bag of cranberries hangin’ out in my crisper than the sauce I originally intended them for…

  6. I love the idea of these treats. Healthy, tasty and they look gorgeous. You have such an interesting mix of ingredients going on here. And you can’t go wrong with cranberries and chocolate.

    Okay, I’m really curious about your dairy-free fudge. Can’t wait for that one.

    Just love your creations, Alta! You’re my kind of baker. =)

  7. Oh yum! I Love the hearty grains you used in this recipe (and really, any cookie with chocolate chips is good in my book)! I haven’t tried baking with buckwheat or teff yet.

  8. It has been such a pleasure getting to know you this year. I wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas! xo Carol

  9. These look wonderful and tasty! I am going to try making these when I get back home to MI!

  10. Pingback: Twelve Days of Cookies | Gluten-Free Cat

  11. I made a similar cookie this holiday season, but I love your multi-grain version. So much heartier! Thanks for sharing this recipe! It’s listed on my blog as one of the gluten-free treats that I’ve drooled over this Christmas season. http://www.glutenfreecat.com/?p=2403 I’ll be baking them soon! Hope your Christmas was merry!

  12. These look wonderful. Isn’t it interesting that you can use less xanthan gum when you use more whole grains in your gluten free baked goods? I would usually use 1 tsp per cup of GF flour, but you used 1/4 tsp xanthan gum while you used 1 cup of the GF flours plus 1 cup of quinoa flakes. Nice job Alta!!! And I don’t think they look like ugly ducklings at all. They look perfectly delicious and dunkable (one of my criteria for delicious and perfect cookies!).

    best, Ellen

  13. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Now that’s my kind of cookie. Love the flours you used and quinoa flakes are great. Will definitely have to try that one.

  14. MMMMMMM,..this is my type of gf cookies,..so festive & good for you too!

    MMMMMMM,..!!!

  15. What beautiful cookies! And they seem (almost) healthy enough to justify 2 or 3! Yum..

Leave a Reply

