Kids in the Kitchen: Spaghetti Carbonara (Gluten-Free, of course!)

Matt loves pasta. Spaghetti, lasagna, and macaroni and cheese? These three dishes alone could make this boy happy for a long, long time. Italy was his country of choice this time around, which, naturally, pleased Matt. We discussed various Italian dishes, both pasta and non-pasta, but the mention of bacon and spaghetti – two of his favorite things in the world – made spaghetti carbonara the choice for dinner tonight.

Truth be told, spaghetti carbonara is not among my favorite Italian dishes. It’s a bit on the rich and heavy side, in my opinion. As this was the case, I have not made spaghetti carbonara prior to this evening. Nevertheless, I sought out a recipe that was sure to please. Emeril saved the day! (Every Emeril Lagasse recipe I have followed has turned out beautifully!) I followed the original recipe pretty closely – it’s relatively straightforward and simple – and it was pretty darn tasty, if I do say so.

Not one piece of shell was dropped in the eggs!

Matt enjoyed it a great deal. Of course, eggs, bacon, cheese, and spaghetti – what’s not to like?

Gluten-Free Spaghetti Carbonara, adapted from Emeril Lagasse

1/2 lb bacon, diced into 1/2 inch pieces

1 T chopped garlic

Freshly ground black pepper

1 lb gluten-free spaghetti, cooked until al dente (I used Tinkyada Pasta Joy Brown Rice Spaghetti)

4 large eggs, beaten

Salt to taste

1 c freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

1 T chopped fresh parsley leaves

In a large saute pan over medium heat, fry the bacon until crispy. Remove bacon with slotted spoon or spatula and allow to drain on paper towels. Remove all but 3 tablespoons of the bacon fat from the pan. Add garlic and saute for 30 seconds, and season with pepper. Add back the bacon and pasta and saute for 1 minute. Season the eggs with salt. Remove the pan from heat and add eggs, stirring quickly, until eggs thicken but do not scramble. Add the cheese and taste; adjust seasoning as needed with salt and pepper. Garnish with parsley. Serves 4 generously.

25 Comments

Filed under Budget-Friendly, Eggs, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes, Pasta, Pork, Quick and Easy

25 responses to “Kids in the Kitchen: Spaghetti Carbonara (Gluten-Free, of course!)

  1. Spaghetti carbonara will always be a special dish for me because it was the first meal that I made for myself after discovering my gluten issues (and I didn’t miss the wheat at all). I agree that it can be heavy, and last time I tried to even that out by adding broccoli. I really liked the combination, and I think I’ll continue making it that way.

  2. We have kids in our kitchen too and this sounds like something they would love!! good one. best from Jefferson’s Table, s

  3. You taught him to cook really well. Hats off to you!

  4. I tasted gluten free pasta recently, one of my clients had a gluten free diet and the pasta tasted really good. I was surprised of the nice flavor. They were a little more sticky and chewy than regular pasta, but great nonetheless.

  5. Matt and I have something in common. We love pasta. ;-D I think it’s time for me to include a pasta fix in my menu for the week.

  6. My husband loves pasta a lot, actually he eats pasta 3-4 days a week….Bolognaise is his favourite.
    Your pasta looks light yet flavourful!

  7. I haven’t tried non-gluten spaghetti yet. Hope to try one day. Yours look very delicious here.

  8. wow how light and festive this looks with the green, healthy and delicious…wonderful recipe :)

  9. Way to go, Matt! This looks and sounds like the ultimate comfort food for a cold winter’s evening.

  10. Oh this looks like such a fun meal to make and eat together!

  11. great pasta picture!
    spaghetti carbonara is always one of our special meals just because, as u mentioned above, it’s rich and heavy! but u’ve just reminded how simple and delicious it is, time to prepare for a special dinner.

  12. Shirley@gfe

    I’ve only made spaghetti carbonara a few times. I think we added peas the last time. Like Katie, I wanted to balance the other ingredients. Of course, peas are carbs, too, but they were green. :-) I love your “kids cook” posts! This recipe looks good, Alta–thanks. :-)

    Shirley

  13. carbonara is sooo yummy, it’s one of my favorite pasta dishes..thank you for sharing your gluten-free version :)

  14. Yes, this is a heavy dish, but it’s one that I love. I have noticed that I just don’t eat as big a serving as when there’s a lighter sauce. I’ve never done it with parsley – good idea! Thanks for the recipe.

  15. Hi TEAH…Congrats on being Top9 today …this is delicious! I love spaghetti carbonara and thanks for sharing the recipe. A winner no doubt! :)

  16. I’m not going to lie – carbonara is actually one of my favorite dishes EVER but I try to avoid it because pasta and my weight are not friends! This dish looks delicious, though! Gorgeous photos!

  17. You know, I’ve never had carbonara because I don’t eat bacon : ( I wonder what I could sub? Because your photo looks so yummy!

  18. I love spaghetti carbonara and yours is an excellent recipe with glutein-free pasta, can’t wait to try it!

  19. tastyeatsathome

    Tasty Trix – I wonder if you could sub some seared, cubed tofu. And to boost the smoky flavor, add some smoked paprika? It won’t be the same dish, but maybe it’ll have the same notes to it?

    Shirley@gfe and Katie – I would have loved adding some veggies into this, personally! (Not sure the kids would have felt the same, but we’re working on that!)

    Citronetvanille – The Tinkyada brown rice pasta is the best I’ve tried. It doesn’t turn sticky or mushy, in fact, it’s very similar to regular pasta. It does feel heavier when eating it (I get full faster), but I don’t see that as a bad thing! Then I don’t overeat! LOL

    Natasha, Teanna, Elin, Gina, Olive, lululu, Simply Life, Cookin’ Canuck, pegasuslegend, maryMoh, Angie, Jenn, Shirley, and s. stockwell – Thank you very much!

  20. Tinkyada is my all-time favorite gluten-free pasta. It comes out perfect every time. We might have to make this one soon…Joe would love it.

    Congrats on making the Top 9!!!

  21. Very lovely =D. I’m not a carbonara girl myself, but it looks yummy!

  22. I have yet to try spaghetti carbonara but I’ve always wanted to try it!

  23. that’s great, kids cooking!!
    Kids can cook, all they need is to be taught!

  24. I am so glad you decided to make Spaghetti alla Carbonara! It is hands down my favorite Pasta recipe evah! I make it way more often than I should ; )

  25. Pingback: Kids in the Kitchen: Chicken Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomatoes « Tasty Eats At Home

Leave a Reply

